Eager to bounce back after a difficult weekend on the streets of Nashville, Patricio O’Ward claimed his third pole position of the season on Friday evening at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. O’Ward was able to pass through the first round into the Fast 12 session, and with his final flying lap, he took his fourth career IndyCar pole position with a best lap of 1’10.715.

O’Ward will share the front row for Saturday afternoon’s 85 lap race with Will Power, who qualified in second position, just 0.0067 seconds behind O’Ward. Romain Grosjean, who won the pole at the IMS road course back in May, qualified in third place.

Alpine Academy prospect Christian Lundgaard is putting together an impressive debut weekend in the IndyCar Series. The 20-year-old rookie qualified fourth fastest, after finishing in seventh in free practice earlier in the day. In contrast, his Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing team mates Takuma Sato and Graham Rahal were only able to qualify 15th and 16th, respectively.

Colton Herta will start fifth as he looks towards redemption from his crash in Nashville, while championship leader Álex Palou qualified sixth. Jack Harvey, Conor Daly, May race winner Rinus VeeKay, and Alexander Rossi complete the top ten from qualifying, ahead of Music City GP winner Marcus Ericsson in 11th.

Two of the top five drivers in the championship will start deep in the field tomorrow. Josef Newgarden already faced a six place grid penalty following an unapproved engine change after Nashville. After failing to advance out of the first round of qualifying, Newgarden will start 20th. Defending series champion Scott Dixon spun on the final corner of his last flying lap in round one, causing a yellow flag that stripped him of his fastest lap – leaving him down in 26th.

The green flag for the IndyCar Series’ second race at the IMS road course is scheduled to fly at 6:00 BST.

Qualifying results

Position Car Driver Team Engine
1 5 Patricio O’Ward McLaren SP Chevrolet
2 12 Will Power Penske Chevrolet
3 51 Romain Grosjean Coyne/RWR Honda
4 45 Christian Lundgaard RLL Honda
5 26 Colton Herta Andretti Honda
6 10 Alex Palou Ganassi Honda
7 60 Jack Harvey Meyer Shank Honda
8 20 Conor Daly Carpenter Chevrolet
9 21 Rinus VeeKay Carpenter Chevrolet
10 27 Alexander Rossi Andretti Honda
11 8 Marcus Ericsson Ganassi Honda
12 22 Simon Pagenaud Penske Chevrolet
13 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Honda
14 14 Sebastien Bourdais Foyt Chevrolet
15 30 Takuma Sato RLL Honda
16 15 Graham Rahal RLL Honda
17 18 Ed Jones Coyne/Vasser Honda
18 59 Max Chilton Carlin Chevrolet
19 7 Felix Rosenqvist McLaren SP Chevrolet
20 2 Josef Newgarden Penske Chevrolet
21 3 Scott McLaughlin Penske Chevrolet
22 48 Jimmie Johnson Ganassi Honda
23 6 Helio Castroneves Meyer Shank Honda
24 29 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Steinbrenner Honda
25 75 RC Enerson Top Gun Chevrolet
26 9 Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda
27 52 Cody Ware Coyne/RWR Honda
28 4 Dalton Kellett Foyt Chevrolet

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free


Browse all IndyCar articles

Source link